Saturday, July 20, 2024

Kings celebrate End of Season Awards with Hall of Fame inductee

Kings celebrate End of Season Awards with Hall of Fame Inductee

This past Saturday, the Thames Valley Kings wheelchair basketball club celebrated their 2019-20 End of Season Awards, which showcased and recognized the accomplishments of the club both on and off the court.

It was action-packed 2019-2020 for the Kings as continued growth saw them enter a club-record four teams between the British Wheelchair Basketball and UKWB leagues. Unfortunately, with the global pandemic, the season was cut short with all competitions cancelled including the Junior Elite-8s Finals competition and the final matches of the season for all three adult league teams.

Kings’ first team will have to wait until August to see if their application to the league regarding their promotion to the premier league. After an undefeated first division season – it may be hard for the league to deny them a place and for Kings to bring Premier League wheelchair basketball action to Berkshire very soon.

Thames Valley Kings also created a Hall of Fame award in celebration of their 15th Birthday, with induction into the hall considered the Highest Award at Thames Valley Kings. The Kings plan to induct someone on average every two years with strict criteria set for entry.

The first Inductee to the hall was announced on Saturday with long term Kings member, Joe Humphreys who joined the Kings as a Junior in November 2005 being selected.

The main award winners:

  •  Awesome Attitude – Yass Ibesaine
  •  Most Improved Junior – Henry Davies
  •  Most Improved Adults – George Gray
  •  UKWB League Top Scorer – Chris Nash
  •  Junior League Top Scorer – Liam Barker
  •  Division Three Top Scorer – Peter Rapley
  •  Division One Top Scorer – Reece Barker
  •  Coaches Player Juniors – George Gray
  •  Coaches Player UKWB League – Chris Nash
  •  Coaches Player Division Three – Yass Ibesaine
  •  Coaches Player Division One – Adele Adkin
  •  Player’s Player Division Three – Peter Rapley
  •  Player’s Player Division One – Adele Akin