Thursday, July 25, 2024

New Chairman at Thatcham Town FC

At last nights supporters AGM, a new Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary was appointed to the Thatcham Town FC board.

Local businessman Dave Melin, appointed as Thatcham Town FC’s new chairman, stepped up to replace Eric Bailey who has fulfilled the role for the past 13 years, which included the memorable FA Vase competition run and final triumph at Wembley Stadium. Mr Bailey will now perform the role of Vice Chairman utilising his wide and vast experiences will support incoming Chairman, Mr Melin in any way he can.

Mr Melin, a former non-league footballer who has a great passion for sport said, “As Chairman, my aim is to help the club to progress on and off the field. I’m keen to ensure that more teams and players of differing ages are representing Thatcham Town”

Furthermore, Mr Melin paid tribute to the outgoing Chair stating he was completely in awe of the work Mr Bailey has completed during his tenure as. “He lives and breathes the club.” Mr Bailey will also continue to work tirelessly around the club as Thatcham Town FC’s Facilities Manage

Stuart Bailey was appointed General Secretary as part of an extension to his current Football Secretary role.

Other officers and committee members who will oversee the running of the club during the 2019/20 season are: Sylvia Bailey (Treasurer), Ian Halloway (Health & Safety), Ben Harte (Marketing & Commercial), Andy Morris (Media), Alan Rashbrook (Membership), Charlie Heaver (Matchday), Pete Woodage (Matchday) and Paul Lovelock (Catering). In addition Colin Reid was voted on to the committee, bringing football administration experience from his time with Dundee FC and Didcot Town.